Sidewalk Bends

Exploring the soul and it's reaches.

Identify!

leave a comment »

If you could put your identity to the side, would you be willing to live and be who you are? What would you call yourself? Would you still claim a nation as your home, a religion as your foundation, and a god as your God? Who would claim your allegiance if allegiances were to be made? Who would hold your ear when a story needed to be told?

Who are you? Most can agree we are not the clothes we wear, or the job we take up, but then who are we? Many ask this quejudgestion throughout their lives, while some pay no mind, and still others become who they are told to be. All the while, the question still begs to be asked, “Who am I?” Am I a mother, a father, a brother or a sister? Am I my parents’ child? Am I a policeman, a teacher or business person? Am I a stranger, a derelict or a criminal? Who am I to ask these questions? Who am I to answer them?

I am no one, and yet I am someone. I am you, and yet I am me. I am and yet I have no words to describe. Do not judge me. Just see me, for no words can do justice, nor should we attempt to confine.

Written by Sidewalk Bends

July 27, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

