Sidewalk Bends

Exploring the soul and it's reaches.

Remembering Humanity

with 4 comments

Osama bin Laden How can we celebrate and exult in jubilation over the death of another person, no matter how many evil acts one has committed? Have we lost our humanity? Have we become so enraged and disconnected that we cannot recognize how far we have fallen? How much blood will it take to quench our thirst for revenge? How many lives must we turn upside down before we can see how we have become the very thing we despise? We dress our cause in a different religion, different colors, different robes, and a different motto, but are we not just the same? We justify our acts through muddled logic, while we spin the voices of our enemies into poison hymns.

What separates us? Are we not just the same? Have we not become the same? Though we may tell ourselves otherwise, why are we so quick to anger? Why are we so quick draw the line between brothers and sisters? Today, many celebrate the death of an enemy, when perhaps we should pray that the truth may be revealed to us all, to those who have died, and to those who are still here. So do I celebrate? No. Inside, my heart weeps for those who have forgotten. My heart weeps for those would rather live in hate, rather than choose to remember love. My heart weeps for those who would use revenge and anger as their rallying call. My heart weeps for those who would be damned. My heart weeps for the innocence lost.

Written by Sidewalk Bends

May 3, 2011 at 2:46 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, Friend! I’m trying to get back online more, and wanted to see what you’ve been up to. Thank you for this insightful post… Weeks like this provoke much consideration. I hope you’re well!

    lesleehare

    May 4, 2011 at 11:03 am

  2. Hi Leslee! How are you? How are you liking the new job? I’m doing pretty good…Trying to find myself as usual. Work’s been pretty busy so I’ve only been able to post here and there – well that and just trying to be centered. I find myself either concentrating too much on work, too much on writing, or too much of none of the above. For now I find myself just trying to be centered.

    sidewalkbends

    May 5, 2011 at 3:26 am

  3. Thanks btw about the post. I was getting tired of seeing people celebrate, plus I found myself in awe of the whole thing while also reviling it.

    sidewalkbends

    May 5, 2011 at 3:27 am

    • I agree… I saw the news just as I was logging off, and over the past few days it has struck me how many people seem to have so many implied expectations over the passing of one person. Whether or not the world is a beautiful place depends upon those of us still in it, not those who have left. I’m glad to be back in touch with you!

      lesleehare

      May 5, 2011 at 4:07 am


Leave a Reply

