Sidewalk Bends

Exploring the soul and it's reaches.

Boring Life

with one comment

Boring Oregon City

Some people have called my life boring. I don’t go out much to restaurants or to the movies, and we don’t go to many places in general. My wife and I prefer to spend time at home together with our son. We do things that seem mundane to other people. We talk. We clean the house and catch up on chores we’ve missed during the week. We play with our son or even just watch television together. Regardless of what we do, we do it together and we enjoy it.

Some people call that boring and I’ve even been told as much to my face. I’ve even been told sarcastic comments about how my wife must really enjoy doing nothing because I don’t have plans for us. To this I say, perhaps we don’t need to do the things you consider exciting because our lives are filled with love, and that love is enough to sustain us. Perhaps we don’t need distractions to escape our lives because we actually enjoy the life we are living.

All too often, people find things to do in order to keep their minds pre-occupied. Why is that? Is life so distasteful that we should try to find things to forget it? What happens after that short-lived piece of entertainment or distraction is over? Do we not have to face life eventually? That is not to say that all people who go out and do things are trying to escape something. It is to say, enjoy your life. Truly enjoy it. At the same time, understand that joy comes from many things. For me it comes from the simple things. It comes from seeing leaves flutter on branches. It comes from clouds dancing in the sky. It comes my son laughing and giggling. It comes from seeing the spark in my wife’s eyes. It comes from my peace with God.

So whether others see it as boring or not, this is my life. For that I am thankful.

Written by Sidewalk Bends

November 14, 2009 at 6:45 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. We seem to be a lot alike. I do the same things. I appreciate the enjoyment I get from my family. I like routine. At times, I feel like it would be nice to have a social life outside of family but that’s hard to do when you don’t have anyone but your family to be social with. I guess our life has its pros and cons.


Leave a Reply

