Sidewalk Bends

Exploring the soul and it's reaches.

When You Want to Be Loved

leave a comment »

No matter how old I get; No matter how far along I go in this life; No matter how much I think I’ve grown, one thing till this day always seems to bring me down. Call me weak. Call me whatever you want. Everything in my life could be falling apart, I could be jobless, I could be hated by people I don’t know, and none of that would bother me as long as the people I knew and loved, loved me back. For whatever reason, as long as I know my family loves me and as long as the people I hold close to my heart love me back, I know everything will be fine. It’s those moments though when I’m unsure, those moments when I question others that I feel myself sink. Everything gets thrown into question. Do they really love me, or do they just want to save face. Do they really love me or do they just not have the heart to tell me. If they really loved me, why would they say hurtful things. If they really loved me, why would they be ashamed to be around me in public. If they really loved me, why would they take advantage of me. If they really loved me, why would they just not tell me. If they really loved me, why would they criticize who I was. If they really loved me, why would they make me question my own sanity and my own heart. If they really loved me, why would they not just accept me for who I am, who I was, and whoever I want to be.

I am me for God’s sake. I am me. Hate me if you want. Make fun of me if you want. Call me names if you want. Look down upon me if you want. Question my thoughts, words and actions if you want. Despise me if you want. I am me. Love me for me, not who you want me to be. Love me for me, not the dream of who you thought me to be. Love me for me, not for what you think I can be. Love me for me. I will love you for you.

Leave a Reply

