Sidewalk Bends

Exploring the soul and it's reaches.

I Am Who I Am

leave a comment »

You don’t know me. You only know what you want to know of me and what I care to show you. Would you see me as I am, who I truly am, if given the chance? What if the words I wrote or spoke were not me, would that make a difference in how you saw me? Would it change anything. We are all fragile. We are all weak, but only as fragile and as weak as we want to be. We are all strong. We are all brave, but only as strong and as brave as we want to be.

Would you let me be who I am even if I embarrassed you? Would you allow me to live my life as I wanted even if I did not live up to your standards? Why must my life be as yours? Do not worry for me. Do not have pity on me, for I live my life as I wish to live my life. Though we may live completely different lives, will you be happy for me even if my life isn’t as you would have hoped? Will you be happy for me if I am happy? Can you see me for who I am instead of who you thought me to be? Will you be happy with what you see? Will you be happy for me. Will you remember me.

Written by Sidewalk Bends

December 10, 2008 at 8:06 am

Leave a Reply

