Sidewalk Bends

Exploring the soul and it's reaches.

From Your Point of View

leave a comment »

Stop thinking about life and its necessities based on what you think you can live on. Take a step outside of this country and what you know, and I guarantee you will see life differently. People in the States call themselves poor if they don’t have cable or if they are on food stamps, or have assisted living. Try living in a home built of sheet metal on a sweltering pile of garbage. Try scavenging for food and supplies from trash. Try having a dirt floor for your home and having to worry if the rain will flood enough that it will make your home a muddy mess. Try beating away the ticks, fleas and mosquitoes away from your skin just so you don’t have to pick at yourself. It’s horrible out there. People think they know suffering. They know their own suffering; that is true. But step outside of what you know or think you know. Trust me, I may not have lived it, but I have seen it with my own eyes. I’m sure it gets worse than that, and that’s what makes it all the more sad. Ya I may be a hypocrite because I can do more to help; Ya I may not know all of the problem or the solution; Ya I may be idealistic; You know what, I’m not afraid to stare at the problem. I’m not afraid to see my weaknesses. I’m not afraid to put my foot down. I’m not afraid to say I am part of the problem. Or maybe I am afraid, but you know what; This isn’t about me. It’s about all of us.

Written by Sidewalk Bends

December 10, 2008 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

